Arabic letters

You’re so Bellady

Bellady pronounced Bell-Ah-dee

I first heard this word back in Houston, Texas when my husband observed me reuse some aluminum foil and plastic wrap and remarked,

You’re so Bellady, you’ll make a good Egyptian wife

I thought he meant thrifty.  I took it as a compliment.

Bellady– country; of national origin; native to or belonging to the country.  Example:   Kelb Bellady (Egyptian Dog)

            “Bellady Bellady” is the Egyptian National Anthem.  “My Country, My Country”

I understand now that my husband meant my actions reminded him of something his mother or aunt would do.

You’re so Bellady.

I take it as a compliment.

5 thoughts on “You’re so Bellady”

Let us know what you think!

